Canada Stock Market

Major Stock Exchange Introduction

Canada leads the world in natural resources, around 50% of public resources companies list on Canadian stock exchanges. She is also a leader in renewable energy, which is an important and fast-growing industry. In year 2009, companies from the emerging industries raised fund of US 1.5 billions in Canada.

More than 3600 companies list in Canadian equity market, ranks no.2 in the world. Toronto Stock Exchange is the 8th largest stock exchange group and its market capitalization is more than USD 2000 billions.

Canada has a good foundation and unique economic strengths:

  • Stable political mechanism
  • Steady monetary policy
  • Flexible fiscal policy with 8 years financial surplus
  • Powerful financial institutions

In addition, International Monetary Fund mentioned that Canada has the best bank industry. Some economic organizations even stated Canada would be the best region for doing business among the G7.

Canada has a healthy balance of trade. The US is the most important trading partner of Canada, as they have USD 600 billions trade volume every year. With the increasing trade volume of different commodity products, China is now the second-largest trading partner of Canada.

Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX)

The Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) is the largest stock exchange in Canada, as well as the 7th largest in the world. The exchange lists more than 3,700 securities and trades an average of 250 million shares per day.

The TSX lists companies from Canada, the U.S., and many other countries, and it has listings from a wide variety of industries. While the Toronto Stock Exchange was historically a floor-based exchange, it now operates electronically.

The TSX is one of two exchanges owned and run by TSX Group. The Toronto Stock Exchange only trades senior equities with strong historical performance, while the TSX Venture Exchange trades shares in new, high growth companies. The Toronto Exchange offers investors more solid, predictable investments. Venture Exchange offers investments with a higher risk, but more potential for growth and therefore higher returns. Companies trading on the TSX Venture Exchange may move to the Toronto Exchange once they meet the requirements.

TSX Venture Exchange (TSE)

The TSX Venture Exchange is a stock exchange in Canada. It is headquartered in Calgary, Alberta and has offices in Toronto, Winnipeg, Vancouver, and Montreal. It was previously known as the Canadian Venture Exchange (CDNX), but in 2001 the TSX Group (now known as the TMX Group) purchased it and renamed it.

The TSX deals mostly with well-established equities, while the TSX Venture Exchange is a public venture capital marketplace for emerging companies that have not yet met the requirements for listing on the TSX.

As of 31 December 2007, the TSX Venture Exchange had 2,176 listed companies with a combined market capitalization of $58 billion. The Canadian Venture Exchange was created in Canadaon November 29, 1999, as a result of an agreement between the Vancouver, Alberta, Toronto and Montreal exchanges to restructure the Canadian capital markets along the lines of market specialization.

The CDNX was created by the merger of the Vancouver Stock Exchange (VSE) and the Alberta Stock Exchange (ASE). The focus of the CDNX was junior companies, i.e., those whose assets, business and market capitalization were too small to be listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX). Often, these were resource exploration companies, but also came to include new high technology ventures. The exchange had its corporate headquarters in Calgary, Alberta, and its Operations headquarters in Vancouver, British Columbia, with additional offices in Winnipeg, Toronto, and Montreal.

Montréal Exchange (MX)

The Montréal Exchange (MX), Canada oldest exchange, is a fully electronic exchange dedicated to the development of the Canadian derivative markets. The Montréal Exchange or M-X (Bourse de Montréal, formerly Montréal Stock Exchange (MSE)) is a futures exchange, located in Montréal, that trades in derivatives such as futures contracts and options.

At the end of 2001, the Exchange had completed its migration from an open outcry environment to a fully automated trading system, becoming the first traditional exchange in North America to complete this transformation.

In February 2004, Montréal Exchange became the sole provider of electronic trading systems and support for the Boston Options Exchange (BOX), making it the first foreign exchange to be responsible for the day-to-day technical operations of an American exchange. That contract now provides the Montreal Exchange with a significant part of its revenue. The Montréal Exchange has a 31.4 % stake in the Boston Option Exchange (BOX), percentage that has since risen to over 51% (as of September 2009). In December 2007, the Montréal and Toronto exchanges merged.

Major Index Introduction

S&P/Toronto Stock Exchange Composite Index

The S&P/Toronto Stock Exchange Composite Index is a capitalization-weighted index designed to measure market activity of stock listed on the TSX. The index was developed with a base level of 1000as of 1975.

S&P/TSX Venture Composite Index

The S&P/TSX Venture Composite is a broad market capitalization-based index, which is designed to measure the performance of securities listed on the TSX Venture Exchange, which is Canada’s public venture equity market.

Account Opening Procedures

Please click here for account open details.

Trading Information

CountryTrading Session(HongKong)Trade CurrencySettlement Currency & DurationEarliest HK time to accept orders for next trade day
Canada Monday ~ Friday
Summer
21:30 - 04:00
Winter
22:30 - 05:00
CAD CAD
USD
HKD
T + 2
Tuesday ~ Saturday
at 09:00
after previous market close

Commission

Please click here for commission details.

Depository Information

Please click here for depository steps and related depository bank account information.

Top of Page
Contact Us
Please contact your account executive or call us now.
Foreign Stock
Tel : (852) 2277 6678 (24Hr)
Fax : (852) 2277 6006
Email : foreignstock@phillip.com.hk

Enquiry & Support
Branches
The Complaint Procedures
E-Check
Login
Louis Talk
Investor Notes
Free Subscribe
Contact Us

加拿大股票

主要交易市場簡介

加拿大在天然資源方面處於世界的領導地位,全球50%的公共資源公司都在加拿大交易所掛牌。它也是一個在重要和快速增長的清潔技術和可再生能源的領導者。新興行業的大公司在2009年來到加拿大籌措資金,並籌得15億美元。

擁有超過 3600間公司在上市的加拿大比其他北美地區的交易所擁有更多的上市公司,而且數量是世界上第二多。加拿大也是世界資本市場的第8大交易所集團,位處全球總股本融資的第六名。

加拿大具有良好的基礎和獨特的經濟實力:
  • 穩定的政治制度
  • 穩健的貨幣政策
  • 彈性的財政政策  8年的盈餘
  • 強力金融機構

此外,國際貨幣基金組織表示,加拿大擁有世界最好的銀行業,並有經濟組織將加拿大在未來 5年,評為七國集團中第1位的營商地方。

加拿大亦受惠於健康的國際貿易。每年6000億美元的加拿大與美國之間的貿易往來,使美國成為加拿大最重要的貿易夥伴。而中國現在是加拿大的第二大貿易夥伴,個別商品業務的增長,亦與日俱增。

加拿大多倫多證券交易所(TSX)

多倫多證交所是加拿大最大的證券交易所以及世界上第七大證券交易所。該交易所有4,000間上市公司,和每日平均有2.5億股成交量。

在TSX上市的公司有加拿大,美國和許多其他國家,還有多種行業。雖然多倫多證券交易所歷史上是平台交易,現在是電子交易。

多倫多證券交易所是多倫多證券交易集團擁有的兩間交易所的其中一間交易所。多倫多證交所只交易歷史業績強勁的股票,而TSX創業交易所交易的股票,在新的高成長型公司。多倫多交易所為投資者提供更加堅實,可預測的投資,而風險交易所提供的投資具有較高的風險,但更多的增長潛力,因此更高的回報。公司買賣,多倫多證券交易所創業板可能轉移到多倫多交易所一旦符合要求。

加拿大創業交易所 Canadian National Stock Exchange (CDNX)

TSX創業交易所是加拿大的證券交易所。總部設在卡加里和有辦公室設在多倫多,溫尼伯,溫哥華和蒙特利爾。TSE以前稱為加拿大創業交易所(CDNX),但在2001年,CDNX被多倫多證券交易所集團(現稱TMX的集團)所購買,並改名為TSE。

在多倫多證券交易所(TSX)交易的大多是一些知名的股票,而TSX創業交易所是一個增長型公司的資本市場,為尚未達到多倫多證券交易要求的新興公司上市。

至2007年12月31日,多倫多證券交易所創業板TSX有2176間公司上市,總市值為 5800億美元。加拿大創業交易所成立於1999年11月29日,結果溫哥華,艾伯塔省,多倫多和蒙特利爾交易所達成一項改組加拿大股票市場的協議,令各商品市場更專業化。

CDNX是由溫哥華證券交易所(VSE)和艾伯塔證券交易所(ASE)合併而成。CDNX主要包括是小型公司,即那些資產,業務和市值太小,不能在多倫多證券交易所TSX上市。通常,那些公司都是資源勘探公司,也包括高新科技企業。該交易所總部設在卡爾加里,其運營總部設在溫哥華,不列顛哥倫比亞省,在溫尼伯,多倫多和蒙特利爾設有辦公室。

蒙特利爾交換所

蒙特利爾交換所(MX)是加拿大歷史最悠久的交流所,是全電子交易所而且致力於發展加拿大的衍生工具市場。蒙特利爾交易所是期貨交易所,設在蒙特利爾,該交流所從事衍工具,如期貨及期權。

在2001年底,該交易所已完成從一個公開叫價系統到一個完全自動化交易系統的升級,成為第一個傳統的北美交易所完成這一個升級。

2004年2月,蒙特利爾交換所是首個成為唯一同時支援電子交易系統和波士頓期權交易所(BOX)的供應商。是第一間外國交易所負責技術操作一個美國的交易所,該合作現在提供蒙特利爾交易所一個很大部分的收入。蒙特利爾交易所31.4%波士頓期權交易所(BOX)的股份,在2009年9月比例已升至51%。2007年12月,蒙特利爾和多倫多交易所合併。

主要指數簡介

標準普爾 / 多倫多證交所綜合指數

在1975成立的綜合指數,當時的基數為1000。該指數是一個市值加權指數,旨在衡量在多倫多市場上市的股票的活動,其中包括普通股和收入信託單位。

標準普爾 / TSX創業綜合指數

這是一個為加拿大創業版而設的市場指標。該指數為市值加權計算,在其成立以來,包括531公司。一季度會進行一次修訂,其目的是用來剔除一些比重少,並加入一些公司高於0.05%公司

開戶手續

按此 參考本公司相關網頁。

交易詳情

國家交易時間(香港)交易貨幣交收貨幣及時間接受落盤最早時間 (香港)
加拿大 星期一至五
夏令時間
21:30 - 04:00
冬令時間
22:30 - 05:00
加元 加元
美元
港元
T + 2
星期二至六
收市後 09:00

零售客戶交易佣金

按此 參考本公司相關網頁。

存款須知

按此 參閱存款步驟及相關貨幣的存款銀行戶口資料。

返回頁首
聯絡我們
請即聯絡你的客戶主任或致電我們。
外國股票交易服務
電話 : (852) 2277 6678 (24小時)
傳真 : (852) 2277 6006
電郵 : foreignstock@phillip.com.hk

查詢及支援
分行資料
查數網
登入
黃師傅每日講股
研究部快訊
免費訂閱
聯絡我們